Nasi Lemak Basmati

I had an urge for Nasi Lemak but have since stopped buying regular Jasmine rice. Desiring a low GI healthy rice option, I chose basmati. Although this choice will bump my rice budget by near three times more, I will still pay the difference for health-sake. Plus after learning how to cook basmati rice the right way, my son who loves his carbs, seem to not mind the change.

I have learnt the water to rice proportions from an Indian man when I met him at a volunteers’ luncheon a few months ago. This friendly man from Chennai told me that I needed to add more water than regular rice and he was absolutely right.

This is my healthier Nasi Lemak Basmati recipe, low GI and lower calories –

Ingredients
* 2 cups basmati rice, washed
* 2 cups water
* 65ml coconut cream, mix into the 2 cups water. This yields about 2.5 cups liquid
* 1/4 tsp salt
* 1 blade pandan leaf, knotted

Method
Cook in ELB.
https://electriclunchbox.wordpress.com/2017/03/16/elb-nasi-lemak/

Should you decide to use a regular rice cooker then normal rice setting will do the trick.

Leave a comment