ELB Nasi Lemak

Nasi Lemak is great for breakfast or lunch. I recently met a friendly Malay couple and our conversation centred around home-cooking. The husband was singing praises to his wife’s cooking especially her Nasi Lemak.  (A long time ago, I tried to make the nasi/rice, it failed and I was left with a pot of half-cooked rice.  Feeling so defeated, I didn’t try again).  This dear Kakak taught me how to make the rice, the outcome was a success. Thanks to Kakak.

I recently invited my friend over for a Nasi Lemak breakfast and whipped this meal in under 2 hours, complete with sambal terong, egg omelet, oven baked chicken drumlets and sliced cucumbers.  Nasi Lemak goes with just about anything – sambal prawns, beef rendang, fried fish, sambal petai …

Ingredients
*1 cup rice
*1/4 cup coconut cream/santan (I use Kara 65ml pack coconut cream)
*3/4 cup water
*1/4 tsp salt
*1 pandan leaf, bruised and tied in a knot
(1/2 cup water for ELB)

Method
1. Wash rice in pot and drain off water.
2. In bowl, mix water, coconut cream and salt. Pour liquid into the pot of rice.
3. Lay the pandan leaf into the rice mixture.
4. Put 1/2 cup water into ELB then place pot of rice into ELB to cook for about 25 min or until indicator light goes off.
5. Open and stir to fluff the rice, then close pot to allow rice to thoroughly cook for another 10 min.
6. Serve rice warm or cooled with egg omelet, cucumber slices, sambal egg plant, chicken wings, etc

See recipe for chicken drumlets https://kussemangat.wordpress.com/2016/09/16/crispy-oven-baked-chicken-drumlets/

Leave a comment